WVSO – Symphonic Series – On the Shoulders of Giants

Title: WVSO – Symphonic Series – On the Shoulders of Giants
Location: Sciences of West Virginia, PO Box 2292, Charleston, WV 25328
Description: March 6-7, 2009 Grant Cooper, conductor Lindsay Deutsch, violin soloist Johann Strauss On the Beautiful Blue Danube Sergei Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 2 John Corigliano The Red Violin Chaconne Maurice Ravel La Valse In this program, we explore how time-honored traditions serve as the basis for new ideas and innovations. For example, the beloved waltz of Johann Strauss was imagined in a new and creative way by Ravel in his landmark work, La Valse. Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2 was inspired by the works of earlier composers, but reflects his own unique concept of sound. In the same way, American composer John Corigliano’s Red Violin Chaconne (drawn from his original score for the popular film) continues this process in which the old inspires the new, with fantastic results! All symphonic concerts are at 8 p.m. at the Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences of West Virginia

(304) 558-0220

Start Date: 2009-03-06
End Date: 2009-03-07